Class 6 Biology Getting to Know Plants Types of root system

Types of root system

  • Tap root: The main root which is larger and fast growing is called tap root and the branched smaller roots is called lateral root.

For example: Beet root, Carrot, Sugar beet, Radish, etc.


  • Fibrous root: No main root, all the roots are of same size.

For example: Coconut palm, Onion, Grass, spring onion, etc.


  • Adventitious root: Root that form on any part of plant other than the actual root area.
  • Note: If plant has leaves with reticulate venation will have tap root and plants with fibrous root have parallel venation in their leaves.

Share these Notes with your friends  

< Prev Next >

You can check our 5-step learning process