Class 7 Physics Light Sunlight


The light rays emitted from the sun appear white but consists of 7 colours namely, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. There are various phenomena and objects that can split these white rays into individual colour rays.

  • Rainbow appears after or during rainfall due to the reflection, refraction and dispersion of suns light by the water droplets in the atmosphere.

  • A Prism is a transparent optical object with polished surfaces which refracts light. It refracts the sunlight into the seven colours.

  • A compact disc also displays fine lines of these 7 colours when sunlight falls on its shiny side.

Share these Notes with your friends  

< Prev Next >

You can check our 5-step learning process