Class 8 Physics Stars and the Solar System Planets



  • There are 8 planets in the Solar System
    • Mercury
    • Venus
    • Earth
    • Mars
    • Jupiter
    • Saturn
    • Uranus
    • Neptune
  • Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are called Inner Planets.
  • Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are called Outer Planets.
  • Planets look like stars but they don't twinkle because they don't have light of their own.
  • They simply reflect the sunlight that falls on them.
  • The planets keep rotating and revolving. So their position is continuously changing.
  • The definite fixed path in which the planets move around the sun is called the orbit.
  • The time taken by a planet to complete one revolution around the sun is called its period of revolution.
  • As the distance from the sun increases, the period of revolution of that planet also increases.
  • The time taken by a planet to complete one rotation on its own axis is called its period of rotation.
  • Some planets are known to have moons/satellites revolving round them. These are called its
  • satellite.
  • Moon is a natural satellite of the Earth
  • There are many man-made satellites revolving round the Earth. These are called artificial satellites.
  • Generally, inner planets have fewer number of satellites and outer planets have more number of satellites.

Share these Notes with your friends  

< Prev Next >

You can check our 5-step learning process