Class 9 Biology Fundamental Unit of Life Plastids


Plastids refer to the double membrane bound organelles found in plant cells. 

They are found in the cytoplasm.

Plants make and store food in plastids.

They have their own DNA and Ribosomes.

They can be classified into two types:

  • Chloroplast
  • Leucoplast

Chloroplasts are the plastids containing the green pigment called chlorophyll. They are necessary to carry the process of photosynthesis.

Fig. Chloroplast

Chloroplasts also contain orange and yellow pigments.

Leucoplast stores starch, oils and protein granules.

Plastids have many membranous layers embedded in surface called stroma.

Share these Notes with your friends  

< Prev Next >

You can check our 5-step learning process